top of page

Student problems

I survived second day. It was pleasant somehow. New fast food opened in our street where we go to school (it's not like we have already one fast food/pizzeria, 5-6 caffee bars, 2 bakeries,...) and me and my friend went there and it's something like mini McDonald's, it's awesome and cheap.

Before real student problems, let me tell you about one guy:

We were like best, we used to call each other all the time, be together awake on phone and go to school together, learned me how to skate, then without any reason we stopped. We don't even say "Hi" to each other anymore. Sad I know. He came to school with broken hand. He felt from skateboard. I don't know why but it was hilarious to me since he became going on my nerves. I can't believe it I was in love with him. Okay, he is handsome but... I even bought him expensive punk bracelet, gave it to him with one little note where it's written how I miss hanging out with him and stuff, and hugged him. And he? He just "smiled" and later, like nothing happened.

My life sucks I know.

Anyway, I have tons of homework to do and I don't even know what do we have for HW. I'm that person: nah, I don't need to write it down, I'll just remember it; or I wrote it down but forgot where. I downloaded Student Agenda on my phone for things like that and I get mini heart attack how many exams we have in next month. Math is biggest problem. I don't know it at all and it's our last year of math. We still go one year more to school but no more math and it's bad 'cause of final examination at the end of high school (it takes it who wants to go further, like college) and there are 3 main subjects: Croatian (mother language), English and Math, then if we want we can choose what other subjects we want (I want History and Geography, I don't need it for my college but I just wanna do it 'cause I always liked those). Yeah, Math. Next year it will be additional classes of Math but only if whole my class will attend it. We are one discordant class and two-three... okay more students doesn't want to attend it and it won't be. I'm mad 'cause it's free and now I need to take instructions next year which I have to pay. Some of them doesn't want to do final examination and some doesn't wanna go to additional class.

So basically, I know English better than my mother language (but okay, our language is really very hard, especially for beginners and even for us lmao). So everytime I see some post about college (mostly someone fro America), it's same as what we do here in high school (don't get enough sleep at all, seriously, some of us including me, wake up almost every morning at 5 am, then don't come home 'till 3-4 pm, and next week I need to start packing at 10 am to go to school around 11 to come back home 8 and some at the evening; like who won't go insane).

Something about our high schools:

High school isn't necessary but if you want to get job (and it's not even easy to get one here even if you finish at Oxford University) you go to college. So, we go to elementary school 'till 8th grade (now the government want to make 9th grade which is believe me, stupid), then we have various high schools:

Gymnasium: -it last 4 years (we say it 1st grade of high school then 'till 4th grade)

-you need to learn at least 2 foreign language (which is here English and German) and Latin (only first two years)

-it's super hard because after you finish that school, you can go to any college you want

-final examination is important and if you don't take it, it's like you haven't went to that school at all, harsh right?

Vocational schools: -depends on which direction you want to go (there are various directions for example, baker; it last 3 years; and direction I go is Administrative Officer and

it lasts 4 years)

-final examination is not important

Art schools: -basically, the name says it all and it last 4 years

-final examination is not important

Idk did I skipped something.

Okay I need to go now and study, I'll update something tomorrow.

Ćao

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page